Council of Librarians

Librarian Code

The Librarian Code (PDF) explains the governance structure for the librarians of the GW Libraries of the George Washington University, which recognizes librarian participation in, and contribution to, the university's educational mission. GW Libraries strives to recruit, develop, and retain an active professional library staff who can support the functions of a major teaching and research institution. To that end, GW Libraries rewards continuous learning, scholarship, and professional achievement. All librarians must participate in activities, both formal and informal, that enhance their work and advance their professional growth.

Council of Librarians By-Laws/Rules of Procedure

The Librarian Bylaws (PDF) contains rules regarding the membership, officers, meetings, and committees for the Council of Librarians. 

2016-2017 Council of Librarian Officers

Chair: David Killian
Vice-Chair: Tolonda Henderson (Chair 2017-2018)
Parliamentarian: Joscelyn Leventhal
Secretary: Rachel Trent

2016-2017 Council of Librarian Committees

Code & By-Laws Committee

Dan Kerchner (2016-2017)
Shira Loev Eller (2016-2018)
Christie Peterson (2016-2018)
Cathy Zeljak (2015-2017)

Librarian Review and Development Committee 

Ann Brown (2015-2016)
David Ettinger (2016-2017)
Shmuel Ben-Gad (2015-2017)
Jennifer King (2016-2018)
Laura Wrubel (2015-2017)
Deborah Bezanson - Alternate (2016-2017)

Grievance Committee

Dorinne Banks (2015-2017)
Jean Pec (2015-2017)
Liz Harter (2016-2018)
Leah Richardson - Alternate (2016-2017)